Iowa State handily defeats Kansas 45-0

By: Dylan Ryan
On rainy day in Ames the Cyclones destroyed the Jayhawks by a score of 45-0. In the winning
effort David Montgomery had three touchdowns and 68 yards rushing. Joel Lanning also stood
out with his 34 rushing yards and 10 tackles. In a losing effort for the Jayhawks Joe Dineen Jr.
stood out with 16 tackles. Iowa State’s defense stood out early in this game with Kamari
Cotton-Moya intercepting Peyton Bender’s first pass attempt of the game. This would later set
up a four yard touchdown for David Montgomery. Special teams would help build the lead with a
Trever Ryen 68 yard punt return touchdown, that brought the to score 14-0. After scoring a field
earlier in the quarter, the Cyclones marched down the field to have David Montgomery score a
one yard touchdown. The Cyclones ended the half up 24-0 on the Jayhawks. The Cyclones kept
marching early in the third quarter, with another four yard David Montgomery touchdown. Later
as time expired on the third quarter Kyle Kempt connected with Marchie Murdock for an eight
yard touchdown. This would extend the Cyclones lead to 31-0 going into the fourth quarter. Late
in the fourth quarter Sheldon Croney Jr. ran in a ten yard touchdown for the Cyclones. The
Cyclones ended up winning easily by a score of 45-0. The defense and special teams where the
two biggest standouts from this game. The defense force 13 punts to go along with their two
turnovers. Players like Joel Lanning and Kamari Cotton-Moya where the true stars of this
defense. Special teams not only scored a touchdown, but also downed their first three punts
inside the 10 yard line. After the game Coach Campbell was talking about his team’s potential
he said “Only Chance we have to be good is we have to be a team”. When Joel Lanning was
talking about the turnover ratio he said “We took care of the ball… it shows the worst weather
conditions we had, we took care of the ball”. Next Saturday the Cyclones will travel to Lubbock
Texas to face Texas Tech at 11 am.

About the author